Zainab TV
Welcome
Login / Register

Food Ingredients

Food Ingredients

al-at'imah wal-ashribah, know before you eat, since you are what you eat

 

  h a l a l  
  h a l a l (unless known to be taken from animal source), proceed with ihtiyat (caution)  
  h a r a m  

 

 

 

ingredient formula details status/ ruling in shari'ah
acetic acid plant based,
can be chemically produced &
can also be extracted from animal tissues
h a l a l
until you know it is taken from animal source
adpic acid veg. based,
can be chemically produced
h a l a l
agar agar seaweed based h a l a l
apocarotenal (c 30, e 160e) plant based h a l a l
unless known to be used with animal gelatin or lard (pig fat)
blue1 / blue 2 chemically produced made from oil of coal tar h a l a l
casein milk based h a l a l
unless known to be used with animal gelatin
chocolate liquor chocolate based
non-Intoxicating (ghayr muskir)
non-alcoholic formula
h a l a l
bextrose veg. based h a l a l
carbon black (e 153) extracted from either bones or meat or wood or plants h a l a l
unless known to be taken from bones or meat
E120 (carmine/ cochineal) carmine aluminum salt of carminic acid. made of insect scales but it goes through istehaalah h a l a l
lecithin (e 322) veg. or egg based h a l a l
glycerin/ glyverol (e 422) extracted from either beef fat but istehaalah is confirmed or taken from plant or petroleum h a l a l
mono & diglycerides   h a l a l
polyglycerol easters or fatty acids (e 476) animal of veg. based h a l a l
unless known to be taken from animal
monosodium glutamate (e 621) seaweed or sugar based h a l a l
gelatin most of the times animal based,
sometimes veg. based

h a l a l to use if the source is not known.
you have to search to find out if it is derived from a halal-meat animal, in that case it will be halal. 

if the gelatin used is pork based or dervied from any haram-meat animal. it would be h a r a m

guar gum veg. based h a l a l
lipase animal based h a r a m
lactic acid veg. based,
can be chemically produced
h a l a l
pectin veg. or plant based h a l a l
pepsin extracted from pig stomach h a r a m
rennet/rennin extracted from animal stomach lining pouch,
can be veg. based & 
can also be chemically produced
h a l a l
until known to be taken from pork source
red 40/ E129 synthetic h a l a l
yellow 5 / yellow 6 synthetic chemical made in the lab h a l a l
whey milk based h a l a l
vanilla extract in high-end or expensive products in the usa market wine used in the process do not use
vanillin / pure vanilla - h a l a l
natural vanilla flavor   h a l a l
unless known that alcohol used in the process as a solvent
SD 40, 
SD 35- A 
Denat. Alcohol, 

Methyl Alcohol/
ethayl alcohal / ethanol 

- jaaiz to purchase
 
E120, 441, 542, 631 and 635
have  animal ingredient do not use
 
Bottled Coffee Extract
bottled coffee extract for baking must be avoided unless we make sure its not extracted in wine or if the coffee extract for baking is kosher.
haram 

 

 

Post your comment

Sign in or sign up to post comments.

Comments

Be the first to comment

Related Articles

  • Halal Fish
    Halal Fish al-at'imah wal-ashribah know before you eat, since you are what you eat Alphabetical Index of Halal Fish Names....
RSS